Fastfood upgrade

When I was still a kid, fastfood for us meant Filipino variations of western chicken joints. We have McDonalds, KFC, Carls Jr. and some others I cannot remember anymore. But for us, mas patok sina Jollibee, Cindy’s, Tropical Hut, Johnny’s. 😁

Pizza joints are semi-special already. Oh, Shakey’s all the way since forever! It’s only when we got older that we discovered other great tasting thin crust pizzas but Shakey’s would always be our favorite. They’re for Sundays, post report card, post recital, post school event type of celebrations. (We were never a fan of thick crust, pan pizza. Just in case you would send us one 😉)

Then, independence was conceptualized in our household. It was then we realized our elders are not adventurous with food. It’s hard to make them eat foreign recipes and they say they don’t enjoy it. We were only able to try new restos when we go out with friends and classmates… then later on, it became a solitary activity for me.

Mostly solitary but ocassionally, I get to eat with good friends. That’s another story.

The point of this post is? Partly, I am thinking it would be a lot more wonderful and frugal if I have food from home. Another part of me, the “emotional eater”, is grateful to have options when going out alone. I can get away with a 30pesos takoyaki or a 60pesos fruit shake or something like this fast food bibimbap with bulgogi soup and mandu by Bonchon. Basta anything except the usual chicken set meal.

Partly, one day. I will completely embrace healthy lifestyle. Please do not reprimand me. I know.

Leave a comment